Seymour Health Board

The Board of Seymour Health has overall responsibility for the strategic direction and operational efficiency of the organisation. Board Directors are community volunteers, formally appointed by the State Minister for Health.  They provide guidance and direction to the (Board appointed) Chief Executive Officer and senior hospital management staff. The Board meets on the last Thursday of the month, in addition to attending other nominated sub-committee meetings, community meetings and training, development and business activities.

Chair Sue van Buuren
Sue is an experienced risk management and compliance specialist, with a background in general insurance and health insurance.  Sue has strong skills in influencing, communication and stakeholder engagement.  Sue holds a Diploma in Integrated Risk Management and a Certificate IV in Workplace Training and Assessment.
Deputy Chair Helen Hull
Helen is a senior consultant that specialises in governance and information technology management.  She has a proven track record, providing advice and guidance to ‘CXO’ level executives on the delivery of strategy, technology, performance, governance, risk, audit, and business intelligence.  Helen also has extensive ICT portfolio, program, and project management expertise.  Having lived in the Kilmore district for over 22 years, Helen contributes to the community by utilising her expertise on local rural boards.
Michael Molony


A Certified Practising Accountant, Michael has operated his own accounting and financial planning practice in Seymour for more than 30 years.  Michael has participated in (and continues to support) a diverse range of community organisations; his membership of the Seymour Health Board stems from that passion and commitment to our region

Ian Chadwick

Ian originally joined the Board in 1999, serving in various capacities until 2012. Ian re-joined the Board in 2015, is a member of the Finance, Risk & Audit Committee and Chairs the Community Reference Committee.

As a Board Director, Ian aims to improve health services for Seymour and surrounding districts and to keep the community informed of all the services available to them from Seymour Health.

Fred Sartori

A local businessperson who has been self-employed in the Seymour community for over 40 years, Fred joined the Board in 2015 following membership on the Community Reference Committee.  Fred is a member of the Board Clinical Governance sub-committee.

With a strong interest in consumer engagement, consumer participation and aged care services, Fred is passionate about supporting the local community.

Belinda Scott

With over 25 years' experience in public health service provision, Belinda brings to the Board a wide range of experience on health service governance and operational committees.  Belinda is committed to rural health and improving the health outcomes of communities through partnerships with consumers.

Dr. Russell Harrison

Dr Russell Harrison is COO of a large disability support organisation that operates across Victoria. Russell has a passion for improving systems and supporting staff to ensure that consumers are at the centre of everything we do. Before entering the community service sector, Russell was Head of Hospital Services at Lort Smith, Australia’s largest dog and cat hospital. Russell has held Non-Executive and committee positions in the aged care, disability and animal health sector.  Russell has a passion for service.

Julie Paul, OAM


Julie has a nursing background with extensive experience in management, leadership, clinical, quality and education roles.  She has worked in the public, private and not-for-profit health sectors.

Julie is passionate about providing best practice health care which meets the needs of the local community.  Julie has a strong interest in communities and consumers partnering with services.

Laura Jeffery

Laura is a Certified Practising Accountant who has used her 14+ years’ experience in the Mining Industry to build her company, Tundra Resource Analytics – providing asset management, financial modelling, project management and acquisition and divestment services to the Resources industry. Laura has held Non-Executive Director and committee positions for a number of organisations, including the peak body of a federated organisation in the early childhood industry.

Ewan McDonald
Ewan has a background in public safety and emergency management.  His interests are centred upon the importance of building resilient communities and the relevance of social justice indicators in measuring performance of public sector agencies.