Message from the CEO


Welcome to Seymour Health, proud winner of the 2018 Premier's Small Health Service of the Year award.

We have established and consolidated continual improvements in the areas of governance, clinical governance and communication.  Our dedicated approach to be transparent, strive for excellence in quality and safety and engage more meaningfully with our community has led us to implement resourceful and inspired approaches, ensuring improved health outcomes for our catchment.

During the past year, Seymour Health successfully secured funding for the redevelopment of the hospital's Urgent Care Centre (UCC), which is a great outcome for one of our highest volume services.  We were also successful in obtaining funding for Barrabill House, which will result in a major transformation of the facility and increased comfort for residents.

Construction works will take place throughout 2019/20.  We ask for your understanding during any disruption. We are confident that the outcome will be worth the wait.

We are also proud of our Accreditation record as Seymour Health achievedsuccessful results across three Accreditation processes over ten months; Home Care Common Standards, National Safety & Quality Service Standards, and Aged Care Standards.

The Board is committed to continuously improving engagement and communication with the community by way of our Community Reference Committee. Members represent all sections of the community and provide advice and opinion to the Board and Executive of Seymour Health in relation to the needs of consumers, carers and the broader community. The committee meets each bi-monthly.

Members do not need any particular skills or expertise, but should have the capacity to reflect the perspectives of the community and bring knowledge of the opinions of relevant groups.  New members are welcome; click here for more information.

Seymour Health welcomes your comments and feedback on our service; either in person, by phone (5793 6100) or email to

Chris McDonnell
Chief Executive Officer